

Illinois Commission on Diversity & Human Relations Annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Remembrance Dinners

Year	Speaker	Title/Organization
1973	Richard Hatcher	First Black Mayor, City of Gary
1974	Jesse Jackson	President, Operation PUSH
1975	Julian Bond	First Black candidate for U.S. President, & Former Chair of the NAACP
1976	Maynard Jackson	Mayor, City of Atlanta
1977	Mohammed Ali	U.S. Heavyweight Boxing Champion
-	John Conyers	U.S. Congressman
1978	Walter Fauntroy	Washington, D.C. Congressional Delegate
1979	Perren Mitchell	U.S. Congressman
1980	Mickey Leland	U.S. Congressman
1981	Reverend Arthur Langford	Councilman, Atlanta
1982	Benjamin Hooks	Executive Director, NAACP
1983	Joseph Lowery	President, Southern Christian Leadership Conference
1984	Ronald Reagan via satellite	40 th President of the United States of America
1985	Willie Brown	Speaker of the House, California General Assembly
1986	Reverend Leon Sullivan	President, Opportunities Industrialization Center
1987 1988	Dr. Alvin Poussaint Cecil Partee	Physician & Consultant to the Cosby Show
1988	Reverend Jesse Jackson	Treasurer, City of Chicago President, Rainbow Coalition
1989 1990	Tony Brown	Television Personality President,
1990	Reverend Jesse Jackson	Rainbow Coalition
1992	Andrew Young	Ambassador to the United Nations
1992	Roland Burris	Comptroller State of Illinois
1994	Maynard Jackson	Former Mayor, City of Atlanta
1995	Emmanuel Cleaver	Mayor, City of Kansas City
1996	Susan Taylor	President, Essence Magazine
1997	Willie Brown	Mayor, City of San Francisco
1998	Togo West	Secretary of the Army
1999	Martin Luther King III	President of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference &
		the son of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.
2000	Danny Glover	Actor & Community Activist
2001	Tony Brown	Television Personality and Radio Show Host, &
2002	Marc Morial	President of Tony Brown Production
2002	Mary Mitchell	Mayor, City of New Orleans
2005	Kweisi Mfume	Columnist & Editorial Board Member, Chicago Sun Times
2005		President, NAACP Manager,
	Lovie Smith	Chicago Cubs Head Coach, Chicago Bears
	- Ozzie Guillen	Manager, Chicago White Sox
2006	John Bryant	Founder, Chairman & CEO, Operation HOPE
2007	Dr. B. Joseph White	President, University of Illinois System
2008	John Bryant	Founder, Chairman, Operation HOPE
2009	John Burgess	Managing Director, International Profit Associates
2010	Ken Williams (Honoree)	Senior Vice President and General Manager, Chicago White Sox
2011	David D. Hiller	President & CEO, The McCormick Foundation
2012	Dr. Michael J. Hogan	President, University of Illinois System
2013	Candi Castleberry-Singleton	Chief Inclusion & Diversity Officer, U of Pittsburg Medical Center
2014	Karen Atwood	President, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Illinois
2015	John W Fountain	Professor, Roosevelt University & Columnist, Chicago Sun Times
2016 2017	Attorney Lori Lightfoot LaShawn Ford	President, Chicago Police Board
2017 2018	Lashawn Ford The Honorable Randall Woodfin	Representative, Illinois General Assembly
2018	The Honorable Kwame Raoul	Mayor, City of Birmingham
2019	Postponed due to COVID-19	Attorney General State of Illinois
2020	Blind Boys of Alabama	
2021	Dr. Georges Benjamin	Grammy Award Winning Musical Artists
2023	Dr. Timothy L. Killeen	Executive Director, American Public Health Association President, University of Illinois Systems
		resident, Oniversity of minors Systems